Weekly Racing Series
Race Wrap & Full Results

June 20th: Nova Truck Centres 150 Night

A Smith returned to a familiar place on Saturday.

While his Uncle Wayne Smith is a 25-time Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour winner, Deven Smith (Lakeside) was a part of the winner’s list on the undercard to the big boys and girl Saturday as he drove his #194 Timberlea Beverage Room Neon to victory lane in the Chickenburger Lightning division. Smith stretched his legs for his first feature victory of the season, over Darrell Sullivan (Harrietsfield) and Hydraulics Plus Night winner Scott Thibodeau (Williamswood). Marc MacMillan (Glenholme) showed strength in his second start back in his first full-time season since his 2013 championship by finishing fourth, ahead of Jamie Dillman of Carroll’s Corner.

Heat races in the 16-car field went to Dillman and Smith.

After two races, Smith has a slim one point lead over Thibodeau as they head into Kiddie Night. Both were title contenders in 2014 and will look to capture their first championship this season.


The Coors Light Trucks made the drivers of the Chickenburger Thunder and Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour step up their game after a duel for a win between two divisional veterans came down to the wire.

Jason Fenton (Eastern Passage) and Dan Smith (Lower Sackville) quickly made their way to the front after Jamie Creamer (Spryfield) and rookie Megan Parrott (Beaverbank) led the opening laps of their 25-lap feature. Fenton and Smith, the two previous feature winners in 2015, were the show all race as Fenton kept Smith at bay after Smith relentlessly worked the back tailgate of the #3 Cutting Edge Construction Chevrotlet. Fenton would go on to win the feature, taking his second straight win over Smith and Kevin Clark Jr (Goodwood), who came home with a second consecutive third place trophy. Sophomores Cory Leonard (Goodwood) and Matt Vaughan (Lake Fletcher) finished fourth and fifth, respectively, in the 10-truck field.

Smith took the heat race victory, which gives him enough points to keep tied with Fenton after three races as Smith tries for four consecutive Coors Light Truck championships. They are back in action Friday night for Kiddie Night.

“The BEST Four Cylinder Drivers in Atlantic Canada” sure lived up to their moniker on Saturday night.

When it looked like 2010 Chickenburger Thunder champion Stevie Lively (Shubenacadie) was set to cruise to his first win of the 2015 season, a late caution that set up a five-lap dash to the finish changed his plans. When the field was re-racked, defending champion and season opener winner Dave Matthews (Kennetcook) started on the outside of Lively and was quick to hound the #32 for the top spot. Matthews would use the bumper with three laps to go to get on the inside of Lively, made the move for the lead and would hold on for his second victory of the year against one of his biggest on track rivals.

“I owed Stevie two of those (bump and run moves) from last year, and that was one of them,” said Matthews in Victory Lane following the 25-lap feature.

Lively settled for second, with Matthew Warren (White’s Lake) getting a piece of the battle for the lead at the end as the three fought for the checkered flag down to the stripe. Warren, the 2013 champion of the division, would cross a close third in the feature, followed by “The Ironman” Drew MacEachern (Dartmouth) and Brad Hayes (Head of Jeddore). The fifth place finish was a career high for Hayes, who won the Tim Hortons at the Airport Rookie of the Year Award in the class the season prior.

Brandon Watson (Windsor Junction) and Stevie Lively took 10-lap heat race victories in the 17-car field.

The Chickenburger Thunder division, led by Matthews, will attack the track for another 25-lap feature on Friday night during Kiddie Night. Watch for Matthews to debut a “mystery” race car that the kids will surely want to take a ride in.


Race Day Photos:
Nova Truck Centres 150 Night
June 20, 2015 @ Scotia Speedworld
Photos by: McCarthy Photographic